On the downside of the iPad

I don't want to dog the iPad just for the sake of dogging so I'll just start off by saying, I'm not buying an iPad now. However, I think there is a real market for the iPad but it isn't tech geeks. In this post(http://gizmodo.com/5458382/8-things-that-suck-about-the-ipad) by Adam Frucci at Gizmodo, he calls out 11 'shortcomings' of the iPad as a device. I disagree with Adam and as much as I respect him I think he misses the point of the device.

Big, Ugly Bezel
I've not seen it in person, so I can't give an accurate assessment. I can understand having a place to put your thumbs while holding the device without getting in the way of the screen like a Kindle or nook.

No Multitasking
This is a power user desire. Remember, this isn't replacing a MBP or your iMac. You use the tool you need to complete the task. I can count on one hand the number of times I wish more than one app was running. But I'm not comfortable with the performance and battery life trade off for multitasking. Most apps hold their state well enough to switch between them without losing anything important.

No Camera
I'm with Adam on this one. This I fail to see why it was excluded. So many apps leverage the camera for more than just taking a picture for the photo album.

Touch Keyboard
Haven't tried it. The jury is still out.

No HDMI Out
Most people aren't going to care and would be fine getting an accessory to output video.

The Name iPad
Yes, this is a horrible name in my opinion.

No Flash
Ugh, I hate people crying about no flash. Apple doesn't care and apparently we don't either since iPhones and iPod Touches are selling. Most websites sniff iPhone users and filter flash or you leave the site. Besides being a resource hog HTML 5, which will handle video, uses the H.264 codec. Apple is pretty committed(http://www.apple.com/quicktime/technologies/h264/faq.html) and their browser supports HTML 5(http://www.apple.com/safari/features.html).

Adapters
Agree, hate the additional need for a bunch of adapters. Even old people don't like that do they?

It's Not Widescreen
I agree it kind of stinks with the pixel density and overall resolution lacking. However, this does make me wonder if the next version of the iPhone will have a higher resolution closer to the iPad. This would reduce the need to optimize for one vs. the other.

Doesn't Support T-Mobile 3G
Perhaps T-Mobile should have picked one of the other frequencies used by other carriers. This feels more like a T-Mobile weakness than an Apple issue.

A Closed App Ecosystem
This isn't an iPad weakness but an iTunes Store decision. Apple isn't going to open one device while everything else is closed. Again, most people aren't going to care because apps work when you go through the store. Apple makes it easy and that is what consumers are going to appreciate.

I think this post(http://gizmodo.com/5458855/the-apple-ipad-is-for-old-people?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+gizmodo%2Ffull+%28Gizmodo%29) by Adam's fellow Gizmodian, Ultimi Barbarorum, sum things up well. Older people are going to really enjoy this. In fact I wouldn't be surprised to see my mom toting this thing when it is released. She loves all the things her iPhone can do, but truth be told she would love to see things on a bigger screen.

Leave a Reply

